September 11th– A Day of Remembrance

Today marks the 5th anniversary of 9/11. I’ve been debating whether or not I should actually write something today or not. I’ve been hesitant about writing today because I didn’t want to dredge up any old memories that took me nearly 5 years to finally get under control. But then again, we must not forget what happened that Tuesday morning five years ago. It would change us all forever.

I was born in the late ‘70s not too long after the World Trade Center was completed. Up to 2001, the towers were just always apart of the skyline in my mind. They served as a point of reference when determining direction—downtown towards the towers, uptown towards the Empire State Building. Now I find myself always disorientated—I guess in a strange way its representative of how many feel in general since the attacks.

Which way do we go? Is this the right way? Did we make a wrong turn somewhere along the way?

Who knows where we stand now? The government says we are safer now than we were five years ago. New security measures are always being instituted. Our physical well-being (for the most part) is always been looked after, but what about our mental well-being? How can you make those who lost loved ones “feel better?” How can you make those who survived the attacks feel better? What about those who are still afraid to fly? Or those who can’t help but cry every time September 11th is mentioned. Will we ever feel better?

There has been some talk about making September 11th a national holiday. It’s quickly becoming a fierce debate. Some believe it shouldn’t be because some may use it as another excuse for a long weekend and partying. Their argument: look at how Veteran’s Day and Memorial Day turned out. Others believe we should have a national Day of Atonement and reflection. Me personally, I straddle the fence. Things are go either way when it comes to holidays and days of remembrance.

In the end, I think we all do what suits us best. Do what feels right to you today. Sharing my feelings with all of you sort of helps me. I’m hoping that maybe it can help one of you.

 

WE MUST NEVER FORGET.

 

 

Leave a Reply

