Fashion Week Kick-off (Van Cleef & Arpels)

It’s now midnight and I just walked in the house about 10 minutes ago. I’m exhausted, but I had to tell you all about the Van Cleef & Arpels show that I just worked on at the famed Hammerstein Ballroom. Known for their high end jewelry, Van Cleef hosted a fete versus an actual fashion show. Complete with showgirls, a live band from Paris and $50 million worth of jewelry (yes folks I did say $50 million…security was as tight as Fort Knox). Though the jewels were really what were on display, the models (16 in total) were dressed in vintage pieces from the 40s, 50s and 60s paired with Christian Louboutin shoes (works of art!). The models were all Brits and French and really young, but well behaved and a pleasure to be around.

The “fashion show” was over by 8:30 and was immediately followed by an after-party where the champagne was following, the hors d’ouvres were tasty and the music was rocking (the French band was a rock band). You know I was going to be up in there, prop kit and all! Definitely a chi-chi event, I bumped into old acquaintances from Mayor Bloomberg‘s office and some of the showrooms around town. America’s Next Top Model alum Eva “the Diva” Pigford and Miss J. Alexander were in attendance strutting their stuff across the dance floor. Though I only stayed an hour (I have a few shows to work tomorrow), I must admit I had a good time hanging out with fellow Ground Crewers Aminah Benjamin (The Ghost of Fashion), Belle, Anne D. (a former rock and roll diva herself), Joan, Louis, Cassandra Bromfield (one of the most amazing bridal designers out there), and more. Even celebrity make up artist Jewel Whinfield was sighted. Stay tuned for more tales from Fashion Week. With 17 shows on my schedule, plus parties and magazine launches, this week is going to be crazy!

Leave a Reply

