There is no rest for the weary (Saturday with NY PR Diva)

Before I recount the events of today, let me say I know I have to finish my reviews of Fashion Week New York. But in my defense, things have been extremely busy! For example, I was supposed to hit up three events today, but I only made it to two out of the three (still suffering from fatigue from Fashion Week and crazed as the final touches are being put on the Te Casan event at the end of the month…and not to mention that my birthday is on Wednesday).

Celebrity stylist Mary Lafayette and myself made two appearances today in the city. Out first stop…the grand opening celebration for Head of Heels in Harlem. This sister to the Brooklyn-based shoe boutique of the same name is located on the corner 124th and St. Nick. Mary and I had to pop over to congratulate owner Dane on his newest spot. Sipping on mimosas and nibbling on pastries, we oohed and ahed over some of the sexy limited edition and one-of-a-kind footwear and handbags. We even got a chance to chat with shoe designer John Ashford, whose unique hand painted boots and pumps were on display as part of the celebration. We didn’t get a chance to stay long as we had to make our way downtown.

Mary and I quickly headed downtown to the Dream Hotel for the 10 Cane Cloud 9 Party hosted by R&B songstress, Mya. As soon as we arrived we bumped into our old friend Matthew Dorsey of Dorsey & Dorsey (we frequently see him at Maya Lounge in midtown with our friend Mark Harper‘s events with the Live on 5th Group). We then chatted it up with Mya and her publicist and Richie Rich from Heatherette. Later we were joined by Mary’s manager, Victoria Agency CEO, Angela Hunte. We also ran into Shai of Konvict Muzik (Akon’s label) who introduced us to up-and-comer Mike Shorey and his manager. Also spotted at the event were Robert Reynolds (Reynolds & Associates), Patty Laurent (X-Factuh/Patty Laurent Signature Events), Alexander Everett (Alex Magazine) and superstar photographer Shawtie Roc.

After all was said and done, I was back home by 8PM. giving me some time to get this post written and work on finishing up the Fashion Week review. I also get a chance to show Miss Kiki, my cat, some love and try and clean up my much neglected home. Later…..

Mya and Richie Rich of Heatherette

Leave a Reply

