Pleasantly Surprised: The Color Purple (Starring Fantasia)

Hey loyal friends and fans. Hope you had a good weekend. Weekends always seem to end so fast, but at least mine ended nicely.

Yesterday, I spent the day with my family in celebration of my mother’s birthday (which actually was early in the week). As a tradition (something my father really started) we go to see a Broadway play as his gift to us on our birthdays. My mother’s gift, tickets to see the Color Purple (based on the Pulitzer Prize winning book by Alice Walker). We nearly didn’t get to see it with the stage hand strike going on. Just a few days before we were supposed to go, the strike was called off.

After a light brunch, we headed over to the theatre district for the play. I must admit that I wasn’t too thrilled about seeing the play (not because I don’t like the play/book) but rather because I wasn’t really a fan of Fantasia Barrino. Yeah, she won American Idol. But that still didn’t really move me (I think I am the only person in Ameica sometimes who doesn’t watch the show and to make it worse, I don’t feel like I am missing anything). In my opinion, her album wasn’t really anything to write home about either. But people love it and they love her. Who am I to judge?

So I went into the play feeling a little ho-hum about the whole thing. But I must admit that I was pleastanly surprised. Fantasia may not move me as a singer on her own, but as a singer/actress (I guess that is the best way to sum up a person who is in a musical) she is phenomenal.

Maybe it’s the role of Celie that seems to create stars (Whoopi Goldberg was the main character in the 1985 movie). Fantasia took the role and made it her own. She was Celie. She thoroughly expressed her pain and her joy and at times had the audicence roaring with laughter or sitting in silence shedding tears. In recent times, very few singers have evoked such emotion from me (the only one that comes to mind is Jennifer Hudson in Dream Girls). Definitely a powerful performance, I must admit that I have a new found respect for her as a performer.  Truly a must see performance.

So if you are in the NYC area between now and January 6th, please check out Fantasia in the Color Purple. You won’t regret it!

Singing at the Juke Joint with Shug Avery (Fatansia and Elisabeth Withers center)

One Comment

  1. […] Pleasantly Surprised: The Color Purple (Starring Fantasia)By nyprdivaMy mother’s gift, tickets to see the Color Purple (based on the Pulitzer Prize winning book by Alice Walker). We nearly didn’t get to see it with the stage hand strike going on. Just a few days before we were supposed to go, …NY PR Diva – https://nyprdiva.wordpress.com […]

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

