Another Crazy Week!

This week really put me to the test with all that was going on. Between working with the Ground Crew, modeling (yes folks, I am a plus model) and coordinating the grand opening events for OMALA, this week really put me through it.

Monday found me working the Oscar de la Renta resort/preview show on Manhattan’s Upper East Side. This gave me a chance to meet up with fellow Ground Crewers, Charlene Spiller (Houston-based celebrity salon owner), Tocorra (formerly of Atlanta), designer Juan Mendez, Joan, bridal designer Cassandra Bromfield, Aminah Benjamin, and designer Taja. Despite the monsoon like rains earlier that day and a delayed start, the show went off without a hitch.

Thursday was the real test as it was the first day of OMALA’s grand opening and the day of the Fashion on Fulton charity fashion show to benefit Brooklyn Community Housing and Services. What should have been a relatively smooth day, was anything but.

The morning had me racing over to Khamit Kinks to get my locs styled for the show that night. My apologies to my stylist, I know I had to be driving her crazy as I conducted business on my cell phone trying to reschedule meetings with sponsors and get in touch with the caterer and take care of other loose ends. I still had to do some racing around to get the remaining gift bag items for the OMALA cocktail party the next night. Needless to say, I didn’t make the 2:45 pm call time for makeup at the fashion show’s DUMBO location. To add to it all, an accident on Flatbush Avenue had me stuck in a cab for what seemed like ages (nearly an hour and a half) getting to the venue at 5:30.

A quick check in with designer Qristyl Frazier, producer Trina Morris and Casting Director and head make up artist Jewel Whinfield had me in for a whirlwind finding out that I was to also walk for Brooklyn boutique Tribal Truths and participate in the silent auction that was to take place prior to the show. Despite my late arrival, I was able to get my makeup done and do my duties as a model.

The next morning had me meeting with All About Brooklyn‘s Sharon Beason to get her contribution to the OMALA gift bag and the door prize she donated as well as the one donted by the Brooklyn Heights Equinox. After meeting with Sharon in Brooklyn, I headed into Manhattan to meet with holistic health counselor Frances Cheung, who also was a gift bag sponsor. I headed back to Brooklyn and to OMALA to meet up with my sister, Teresa, who was to be my right hand woman for the remainder of the day. After stuffing the remaining donations in the gift bag, we thought we were going to have a relatively easy day. Why do I kid myself? Issues with the caterer had us running to the supermarket and Party City to make platters just hours before the event was to start. But needless to say, we kept our heads, and despite all the obstacles, the event came off nicely.

The cocktail party reunited me with some old friends (and new ones) including publicist Joanne Joo (also a winner of one of the door prizes– the gift basket courtesey of Planet Botanicals), Joel Mejia, Lemu the photographer, Malat of All About Brooklyn, Shaunta, Holly (OMALA owner, Kate Gaertner’s sister), Natasha Paul (owner of the Green Room Salon) and more.

Needless to say, I’m taking it easy today and about to jump right back into another hectic week next week.

One Comment

  1. Hey Tamara,

    It’s Shaunta. Wow! You are one busy woman. Just like you said another crazy week! You had one, but you love what you do and thats important. You’re blessed! Thank you for mentioning me. It was really nice to meet you too. I stopped by Omala again on Sunday to check out the Art Walk…really nice stuff. I spoke to Holly again. She remembered trying on the headband for me:)

    I’m going to wear that t-shirt tomorrow in yoga class. Well, I hope you enjoyed taking it easy today. Take care.

    Shaunta

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment